My Morning Jacket is one of my all time favorite bands, and Jim James (lead singer) has one of the best voices in all of music. If you get the chance to see them live take it. They sound as close to an album as you can get and the vibe they put out to the crowd is simply remarkable. This song “Thank you too!” off their latest album Evil Urges is an instant classic. The album as a whole is a departure from their traditional sound and a master class in reinventing yourself and exploring new avenues. If you are a first time listener to My Morning Jacket you may be a bit put off by their latest offering and I would suggest listening to the album It Still Moves as a good introduction to their music.

This song reminds me of her. It gives me hope that one day I will find someone that captivates me as much as she did. So here have a listen, I’m sure you’ll love it.

Thank You Too!

really didn’t think i was gonna make it.

really didn’t think i was gonna make it this way.

put on my robot face. hide my emotions way far away from me.

oh! you really saw my naked heart.

you really brought out the “naked” part.

i don’t know what you were doing-

i know i just want to thank you for thinking of me.

i want to take you. for all that you are.

although our worlds seem far apart.

i want to see you- thru all that you do

i want to thank you.

it was strange and it was soothing, and you could even say amusing-

the way it came to me.

you’d devised a simple plan, that would change the fate of man,

you’d thought of everything.

oh! you really saw my naked heart.

you really brought out the “naked” part.

i don’t know what you were doing-

i know i just want to thank you for thinking of me.

i want to take you. for all that you are.

although our worlds seem far apart.

i want to see you- thru all that you do

i want to thank you.

