I just finished the book “Coin Locker Babies” by Ryu Murikami, and I must say it has taken the spot as my all time favorite book. I strongly recommend any adoptees out there to go out and get yourself a copy.

This story follows two boys who were left by their birth mothers in coin lockers and all of the madness that follows them throughout their lives. I really am not inclined to give a synopsis of the story so I wont. But I will say that I was left flattened with emotion. Even though this is a fictional tale I couldn’t help but mull over a lot of the feelings expressed in this book as I felt strangely akin to both characters in different ways.

For four days straight I could not put this book down, which was a totally new experience for me. I mean I have read books before that were very moving and kept my interest peaked, but this was different. It was as if I was peering into a secret part of myself and unearthing emotions I never knew I had.

So go out and get yourself a copy of this great work and I promise you will not be disappointed.

The Wikipedia on “Coin Locker Babies” and Murakami.

